For ‘Style’ read ‘Spirit’

Self Portrait with Gerald

Self Portrait [with Gerald] in the Style Spirit of David Hughes (mixed media 2010 2xA5 Moleskine sketchbook pages)

David Hughes is an artist, illustrator, caricaturist and writer who lived near my home town of Manchester. This picture – in the spirit rather than the style of David Hughes, on reflection – was inspired by his book, Walking the Dog, which had particular resonance for me as we’d recently taken in Gerald from the Dogs’ Trust. I enjoyed our early morning walks when I’d try to engage him in conversation but, being a dog and a greyhound at that, he rarely responded.  One day, I’ll drive over to where David Hughes lives, knock on his door and ask him to teach me something.

2 thoughts on “For ‘Style’ read ‘Spirit’

  1. I want to help arrange this!! Fascinating man, wonderful tutor.
    (And unless I’m very much mistaken, you should still be able to find him in Suffolk these days, near Bury!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

