Why Draw?

The people behind the Big Draw initiative are looking for creative people to visualise the theme ‘Why should we draw?’

Surely the question is ‘Why shouldn’t we draw?’ If you put a blank surface and anything capable of making a mark in front of a child, [s]he will draw. Why do some of us lose that urge as we grow older, I wonder? A couple of years ago Howard Ikemoto posted the following on Facebook:

When my daughter was about seven years old she asked me one day what I did at work. I told her that I worked at the college – my job was to teach people how to draw. She stared back at me, incredulous, and said, ‘You mean they forget?’

Drawing allows you to bring order to your daily life; or to make it chaotic if you prefer; it gives you carte blanche to create impossible situations, enhance the mundane, make something fleeting last for ever; it can be meditative, disturbing, rewarding or frustrating. Why wouldn’t you want to experience all these things?

Drawing allows me to imagine a world where people and animals wear everyday objects as false noses:

Land of False Noses

The Land of False Noses (2014 ink and watercolour on a sketchbook page)

Or a birthday supper shared with a tired dog:

Birthday Supper

The Birthday Supper (2013 ink and coloured pencil 30 cms square)

Why shouldn’t we draw?

4 thoughts on “Why Draw?

  1. Michael, I’ve nominated you on my blog for a Versatile Blogger Award. (If you don’t feel like passing on the award, I won’t be offended at all). I enjoy what you do here, and am glad to have the opportunity to spread the word about your blog – hope that’s ok!

    Like

Leave a Reply

